Milk Chocolate Brownies with Coconut Frosting

“Childhood smells of perfume and brownies.” – David Leavitt

So if you know me at all, you know that for as much as I love cooking, that’s how much I dislike baking. I think I mention it once or twice in my post on buns! But yesterday was mine and Evan’s 3 year anniversary, so I thought that something sweet was in order.

I wanted to make something simple, but delicious and I wanted to do it without have to go out and buy anything, thank you very much. I also had leftover Easter chocolate so I knew it was going to be something chocolatey. Enter brownies. Simple, tasty and I had all almost all the ingredients on hand. But since it was for a special occasion, I thought I’d bring my brownies to another level. That’s where the coconut frosting comes in. And boy let me tell you… these bad boys are delicious!

So how do you make them?

image1

Pre-heat your oven – that’s usually the first step when baking isn’t it. Melt some butter in a saucepan and add sugar. In a separate bowl combine some cocoa powder – This is dark, unsweetened cocoa and before you ask. You absolutely CANNOT use hot chocolate powder. Don’t do it! (Please forgive me, I didn’t mean to yell at you!) where was I? Right combine some cocoa powder, flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

Stir this chocolatey, magic dust into the butter and sugar mixture.

image5

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs with some vanilla, then add your chocolate mixture.

Now grab that leftover chocolate egg that you got from work and chop it up. Throw the chunks into the brownie mixture and put the whole thing into a greased 9X13 pan.

(Take a couple of minutes to lick the batter from the bowl, and spoon. Go on, I won’t tell anyone).

Bake the brownies for 20-25 minutes. I like a gooey, fudgy center with crisp edges. Cook longer if you like more cakey brownies.

While the brownies are baking, make the coconut frosting. I called this frosting for lack of a better word. It’s more like a coconut topping. It basically tastes like the inside of Bounty bars and trust me THAT’s a good thing!

image1

This frosting is super easy to make. Grab some evaporated milk (ever wonder what evaporated milk actually was? Well wonder no more, read here to find out), sugar, and four egg yolks and add them to a saucepan. Whisk until the egg yolks are fully incorporated and then add some butter. Simmer the lot over medium heat until the mixture is thickened.

 

Then toss in some vanilla and coconut, this is a coconut frosting after all, and stir to combine. Allow to cool.

Your brownies should be ready to come out of the oven by this time. So pull them out and try resisting the urge to eat some straight out of the oven. Let them cool and top with the frosting.

image5

Now make yourself a cup of tea and have one or three pieces!

Milk Chocolate Brownies with Coconut Frosting

  • Servings: 10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Milk Chocolate Brownies

  • ¾ cup butter
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • 1 cup cocoa
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 4 eggs
  • vanilla
  • 170 g milk chocolate chopped

Pre-heat the oven to 375º F. Melt the butter in a saucepan and add the sugar, stirring until well blended. In a bowl whisk the cocoa powder, flour, baking soda and salt. Stir into melted butter and sugar mixture. In a separate large bowl whisk the eggs and vanilla. Add cocoa mixture to the eggs and mix until incorporated. Stir in chocolate and add to a 9X13 pan. Bake 20-25 minutes and let cool.

Coconut Frosting

  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • ½ cup butter
  • 200 g dessicated coconut
  • vanilla

Combine evaporated milk, sugar and egg yolks in a saucepan. Whisk until well incorporated. Add butter. Melt butter and bring to a simmer. Cook until the mixture thickens about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and coconut. Let cool.

Once cool, frost brownies. Top with sprinkles or chopped nuts and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

